Error message

Sunday Lunch - Ella at 100 with Down For The Count is past the date when it may be purchased online.

Sunday Lunch - Ella at 100 with Down For The Count

Sunday Lunch with Down For The Count Swing orchestra at Hideaway Jazz Club Streatham south London
Sunday, 4th Jun 2017
Doors 12pm, Show 2pm
Sorry. This item has expired.

Down For The Count Swing Orchestra are London’s hottest mini Big Band and vintage dance orchestra, and they return to Hideaway to celebrate the legendary Ella Fitzgerald in the 100th year since her birth. They'll be playing two sets of live music, performing much-loved Ella Fitzgerald classics from every stage of her long career. Expect to hear hits such as Cheek to Cheek, Blue Skies, Shiny Stockings and many more!

Featuring the amazing Katie Birtill on vocals, this is going to be a great Sunday afternoon performance!

UNDER 16s admitted FREE - Please let us know how many children will be attending in the Comments Box section of the booking form. 

The Down For The Count Swing Orchestra bring the sounds of the Swing Era back to life, performing tailor-made arrangements of big band classics that remain faithful to the original recordings and showcase the talented instrumentalists and vocalists in the band, whilst drawing on inspiration from the likes of Duke Ellington, Count Basie, Glenn Miller and Benny Goodman amongst others.

In June they will be paying tribute to one of the greatest jazz singers of all time, Ella Fitzgerald, in the year she would have celebrated her 100th birthday. Expect to hear some classic Ella repertoire including "Cheek to Cheek", "Manhattan" and "All the Things You Are", and other repertoire from her contemporaries including Louis Armstrong and Frank Sinatra.

Down For The Count are a hit in dance halls, concert halls, theatres and festivals, and their joyful performance and infectious rhythm never fails to get toes tapping and audiences dancing... so no need to feel guilty about following your Hideaway Sunday lunch with that cheeky dessert after all!

Line up:

Mike Paul-Smith (piano/MD), Matt Read (bass), Hugo Fagandini (drums), Amelia Forster (keyboards), Max Fagandini (trumpet/trombone), Simon Joyner (trumpet), Kate Ballard (alto sax/clarinet), Alex Western-King (tenor sax/clarinet), Jamie Hone (tenor and bari sax), Katie Birtill (vocals), Callum Gillies (vocals)